Blast!

Darn this schoolwork guilt!

I’ve been spending weeks “getting organized”, whatever that means. I find the transition from summer to fall so disrupting as now there are approximately a million more things to do with the onset of classes. I haven’t done anything substantial with research in a little bit, but I had a motivating conversation with my boss this morn. What I have been doing consistently is knitting and crocheting after work. I finished my crochet tool case, and am working on a cowl…so much for my plans of giving back to the community. Sigh. The epic trip I made to a yarn store has turned me into a selfish knitter…after this cowl I promise I’ll get on the streets. I just need to ensure a sufficient level of neck warmth whist creeping the outdoors, that’s the ticket….

Actually, I want to knit a second cowl with a different size needles (I am using a different size than the pattern suggested) so that I truly get a feeling for how much difference needle size can make. So far, this is not something I have a grasp of. But if I make two cowls, dear readers, I will donate one and keep the other! So that is a decent trade-off for learning, no?

There is a yarn bomb very close to where I live and it is beautiful (I am jealous)! It’s been there for days and last night on the way home from a late movie I gave it a nice pet. I want to add to it! Is that acceptable? Or is that rude? What is the etiquette in terms of yarn bombing?

I’ve been reading Knitting for Good by Betsey Greer. I have really enjoyed reading the history of how feminism both abated and resurrected crafting. It’s much like a beautiful love story. I never gave much thought to why many of my elders and grandmothers knit and mothers and aunts did not – but is now so obvious. I’m glad I am part of the resurrection, because knitting brings me such joy.

One Comment to “Blast!”

  1. oooooh feminism and crafting DO mix!!!!

Leave a Reply

