Catching Up

I’ve committed a blogger MIA. My apologies!

Though I haven’t been blogging, I am happy to report that I have been continuing my love affair with yarn. I’ve made myself an item or two this fall, but moreso I’ve been working on yarnbombs!

I finally feel like “a crocheter” as opposed to “learning to crochet”. It’s fantastic; I really love it. I love both crocheting and knitting equally, they are both my crafty children.

A batch of yarnbombs I've been working on. I like my "embroidered" tag the best - learning is beautiful. I embroidered the scrap yarn I used to learn crochet - a true "learning project".

This picture shows the majority of yarnbombs I’ve created in the last few months. Obviously, I really jived with amigurumi. I enjoy it because it’s fast and cute, but I have to move beyond it. While making cute dudes could potentially meet my goal of bringing unexpected joy to others, it doesn’t really do much to promote community or make any statements. I want to push myself to figure out how to incorporate letters into my knitting/crocheting. I find it hard…as you can see by the ugly camo-heart yarnbomb in the photo! I was trying to make something with two colours…not lettering, but same concept. I didn’t take into account that knitting stitches are taller than wider. Oh well, I’ll keep trying.

Though I’ve made a bunch of wee yarnbombs, I haven’t put any out into the environment since it’s raining constantly and, until a few days ago, I didn’t have any labels made up (with the blog address). I now have labels but I can’t do anything about the weather. The solution: I have packed some of the yarnbombs for tagging elsewhere! I’m flying home for the holidays tomorrow, where it rains much less often, and I’m also going on a week-long trip to Europe, which…the rain will mess up…but who can resist tagging internationally? Rain or no rain, something will be left somewhere. For someone. Someone British.

Happy holidays.

Leave a Reply

